Hero Image

IPL 2024 Purple Cap Update After Qualifier 1: Varun Chakaravarthy Closes Gap, Harshal Patel Still Leading

In a thrilling showdown at Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad, Kolkata Knight Riders' spinner Varun Chakaravarthy narrowed the gap in the Purple Cap race with a stellar performance against Sunrisers Hyderabad . His two-wicket haul in Qualifier 1 showcased the enduring enigma of his spin, crucially aiding KKR's advance to the IPL 2024 final. Chakaravarthy now stands third in the rankings with 20 wickets, trailing only behind Harshal Patel and Jasprit Bumrah , whose seasons have concluded.

Harshal Patel, the Punjab Kings' seamer, leads the Purple Cap race with an impressive 24 wickets, positioning him as the frontrunner for the prestigious award for the second time. Chakaravarthy, however, has a prime opportunity in the final to overtake Patel and claim the Cap in a dramatic last-minute twist. Meanwhile, Jasprit Bumrah, despite an outstanding season, remains static at 20 wickets, eliminating his chances for the Cap.

In fourth place, Arshdeep Singh of Punjab Kings finished the season with 19 wickets, a promising sign for Team India as they gear up for the T20 World Cup. His consistent performance has been a highlight for PBKS this season.

Sunrisers Hyderabad's left-arm pacer T Natarajan also remains in contention with 18 wickets, ranked fifth. With SRH still in the hunt, Natarajan's potential appearances in the eliminator and possibly the final could see him make a late surge for the Purple Cap.

Chennai Super Kings' Tushar Deshpande concluded his season with 17 wickets, emerging as CSK's standout bowler after the departures of Matheesha Pathirana and Mustafizur Rahman. His contributions were vital for CSK's campaign, reflecting his growing prowess.

Lastly, Yuzvendra Chahal , also with 17 wickets, remains in the playoffs, offering him a chance to climb higher in the rankings and potentially challenge the leaders.

As the IPL 2024 final approaches, the Purple Cap race intensifies, with Chakaravarthy, Natarajan, and Chahal poised to challenge Harshal Patel's lead in what promises to be an exhilarating conclusion to the season.